Blackboard 9 Basic Integration Instructor Manual

Welcome to the Turnitin Blackboard Integration Instructor User Manual. The Turnitin Building Block extension gives users of the Blackboard Learning System the ability to use Turnitin products within their Blackboard interface. Turnitin provides plagiarism prevention services, class management tools, and paperless digital grading products to educational institutions around the world.

Turnitin assignments created in Blackboard cannot be updated within Turnitin when accessing the web site directly at www.turnitin.com. Any changes made within www.turnitin.com will not update the Turnitin assignments in Blackboard.

Once the Building Block is available, instructors can add Turnitin assignments to their course. If the Turnitin assignment type is not available, please contact an administrator for the Blackboard installation for assistance.

Creating a Turnitin Assignment

Turnitin assignments are added from the Content page. The instructor can open the course’s Content page by clicking the Content link from within the course web page.

From the Content page, click on the Create Assessment pulldown menu and then to add a Turnitin assignment to a course click on the Add Turnitin Assignments link. The Turnitin assignment creation page will open within the Blackboard interface.

To add a Turnitin assignment follow these steps:

  1. After turning Edit Mode On at the top right of the Contents page, select Turnitin Assignment using the Create Assessment pull down menu
    1. To create a Turnitin revision assignment, follow these steps:
      1. After turning Edit Mode On at the top right of the Contents page, select Turnitin Assignment using the Create Assessment pull down menu
      1. After turning Edit Mode On at the top right of the Contents page, select Turnitin Assignment using the Create Assessment pull down menu
      2. Submitting Papers

        Instructors can submit papers to an assignment by clicking on the assignment’s View/Complete link. Click on the Content link within the course menu and a list of the course assignments will appear.

        Click the view/complete link under the assignment to submit a paper to it. The submission form will open.

        Single File Upload

        Single file upload is the default option on the submission page and allows the instructors to submit a single paper at a time.

        Submitting a paper by file upload:

          Click the View/Complete link on the Content page to submit a paper to the chosen assignment
          1. Click the View/Complete link on the Content page to submit a paper to the chosen assignment
            1. Click the View/Complete link on the Content page to submit a paper to the chosen assignment
              1. Click the View/Complete link on the Content page to submit a paper to the chosen assignment
              2. Viewing the Turnitin Assignment Inbox

                Instructors can view the Originality Reports completed for submitted papers by accessing the Turnitin assignment inbox. Click on the Course Tools link from within the course to open the extended list of course tools. Click on the Turnitin Assignments link in the Course Tools section to show the Turnitin assignments for this course.

                Click the assignment name to access that assignment’s inbox allowing the instructor to view the papers that have been submitted to the assignment.

                Syncing the Class Roster

                Enrolled students will appear in the assignment inbox once they have accessed a Turnitin assignment in the course. To automatically import the student list into the inbox before the students access the assignments or submit papers, an instructor can synchronize the assignment roster. Click on the Roster Sync button in the assignment inbox, which will import a list of all students currently enrolled in the Blackboard course for the assignment. This function can also be used later to remove student users who are no longer a part of the course. All submissions and data for students removed by a Roster Sync will disappear from all Turnitin assignments in the course.

                Warning: Students who are removed by the roster sync function must be re-added to the Blackboard course and the Roster Sync function must be used again to regain access to any submissions, GradeMark commented papers, or other information in the Turnitin assignment for the student.